ixia: public art think tank

ixia has taken over the ownership and management of Public Art Online from Arts Council England. The design and content of the website are currently being reviewed.

Bookmark and Share

Public Art Courses

The following list comprises a selection of public art or related courses around the country and is therefore not a comprehensive overview. Please note that some colleges also offer short courses or one day seminars on developing public projects.

UNDERGRADUATE COURSES

Anniesland College

HND Contemporary Art Practice

Full time two years for HND

Full time one year for HNC

Contact: Linda Clarke or Pauline Walker

19 Hatfield Drive
Glasgow
G12 OYE

Tel: Linda Clarke: 0141 357 7668
e-mail: linda.clarke@anniesland.ac.uk
Tel: Pauline Walker 0141 357 6093
Email: pauline_walker@anniesland.ac.uk
www.anniesland.ac.uk

Edinburgh's Telford College

HNC & HND Public Art Contemporary Arts Practice

Full time two years for HND

Full time one year for HNC

Contact: Alan Holligan

Crewe Toll
Edinburgh EH4 2NZ
Tel: 0131 559 4000
Email: mail@ed-coll.ac.uk
www.ed-coll.ac.uk

Falkirk College of Further & Higher Education

HND Public Art

Full time two year

Part time also available

Contact: School of Art and Design

Grangemouth Road
Falkirk FK2 9AD
Tel: 01324 403000
Email: info@falkirkcollege.ac.uk
www.falkirkcollege.ac.uk

Glasgow School of Art

BA Hons Sculpture & Environmental Art

Full time four years

Contact: Tanya Eccleston
Head of Department

School of Fine Art
167 Renfrew Street
Glasgow G3 6RQ
Tel: 0141 353 4517/4570
Email: fineart@gsa.ac.uk
www.gsa.ac.uk/sculptureandenvironmentalart

London Metropolitan University

BA Hons Spatial Arts

Combines art, architecture and design in the public realm;

based at London North Campus.

Contact: Admissions Office

166-220 Holloway Road
London N7 8DB
Tel: 0207 133 4200
Email: admissions@londonmet.ac.uk
www.londonmet.ac.uk

POST GRADUATE COURSES

Kingston University

MA Art and Space

Full time one year

Part time two years

Contact: Louis Nixon

Faculty of Art, Design & Music
Knights Park
Kingston
Surrey KT1 2QJ
Tel: 0208 541 4778
Email: l.nixon@kingston.ac.uk
www.art-and-space.org

Liverpool John Moores University

MA Fine Art

New course for artists interested in collaborative practices within the context of urban culture, taking the local specificities of Liverpool as a starting point.

Contact: Peter Appleton or Patricia McKinnon-Day

Liverpool School of Art and Design

68 Hope Street
Liverpool
L1 9EB
Tel: +44(0)151 231 5084
Fax: +44(0)151-231-5096
Email: p.appleton@ljmu.ac.uk or p.mackinnon-day@lmju.ac.uk
http://www.ljmu.ac.uk/artanddesign/courses/97.htm

Manchester Metropolitan University

MA Art as Environment

Full time one year

Part time two years

Contact: Rachel Davies

MIRIAD
Grosvenor Building
Cavendish Street
Manchester M15 6BR
Tel: 0161 247 3621
Email: miriadadmissions@mmu.ac.uk
www.mmu.ac.uk

University of Bolton

Postgraduate Certificate, Postgraduate Diploma and MA Public Art

Full time one year

Part time also available

Contact: Alan Buckingham
Public Art Pathway Leader

Department of Art & Design
Chadwick Street Campus
Bolton BL2 1JW
Tel: 01204 903378
Email: ab8@bolton.ac.uk
www.bolton.ac.uk

University of Central Lancashire

MA Fine Art: Site & Archive Intervention

Contact: Lubaina Himid or Charles Quick
MA Fine Art Course

School of Art, Design and Performance
University of Central Lancashire
Preston PR1 2HE
Tel: 01772 893957
Email: lhimid@uclan.ac.uk or cquick@uclan.ac.uk
www.uclan.ac.uk

UCL (University College London)

MSc Urban Studies

Admissions enquiries to:

Linda Fuller
linda.fuller@ucl.ac.uk

UCL Urban Laboratory
26 Bedford Way
London WC1H 0AP
020 7679 7477
Visit the UCL Urban Studies MSc Website

University of East London

MA/Postgraduate Diploma

Architecture: Alternative Urbanisms

MA full time one year

MA part time two years

Diploma full time six months

Contact: Jane Riches

University of East London
Docklands Campus
4-6 University Way
London E16 2RD
Tel: 020 8223 3250
Email: j.ric hes@uel.ac.uk

University of Liverpool

MA in Visual Art in the City

Full time one year

Part time two years

Contact: Jonathan Harris

School of Architecture and Building Engineering
Leverhulme Building
Abercromby Square
Liverpool L69 3BX
Tel: 0151 794 2638
Email: jharris1@liv.ac.uk

University of Ulster

MA in Art in Public

Full time three semesters
Part time six semesters

Contact: Susanne Bosch or Dan Shipsides

School of Art, Design and Built Environment
University of Ulster
York Street
Room 82D10
Belfast BT15 1ED
Northern Ireland
Tel: +44 (0)2895 367321
Email: s.bosch@ulster.ac.uk; d.j.shipsides@ulster.ac.uk
www.masterartinpublic.wordpress.com

For further information, email: info@ixia-info.com

July2008